Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

History Passport

Since we’re starting our main history unit anew with ancients again, I decided to make a history passport for the boys. I’m pretty happy with how they turned out! I’ll tell you how I did it if you want to make your own, or feel free to use my template.

Like I mentioned in the Lesson Planning posts of late, we are using Mosaic with the Story of the World. We’re also doing a tour of the 50 states in geography, so we’ll get to use it for more than just history. I’ve found several images with travel stamps and country postage stamps that I’ll probably put into a document, print and then put through a sticker-maker so they can go into the books.

I made the boys’ passports in Microsoft Word. I made the margins narrow on a new document, then added a shape (rectangle), then copied it and placed another one next to it to make the cover and back of the passport. Then I added the text and background color, then a picture of the United States Seal (since we’re in the US. If you’re international, you could use your country’s symbol or flag or seal, or your homeschool’s symbol or crest – the options are limitless!).

For the inside pages, I created a new document and placed the same sized rectangles to make the page borders, then added a map for the background (edited to be ‘washed out’ looking) and added the lines to make the interior boxes. If I’d thought about it, I would have added text inside for ‘entry’ and ‘departure’, but I didn’t. I’ll write them in later. Once I was done with the shapes, I printed (which took some finagling to get them printed just right) and cut out, folded and stapled. Then I let the kids sign them inside. I may take the finished passports to be laminated next time I go. Leaving them closed and running them through will laminate the outsides and I can cut the opening again. We’ll see if that’s necessary.

I found some ready-made templates here:

DonnaWard.net

Satori Smiles

and I have mine uploaded if you’d like to use it.

HistoryPassportTemplate_cover_ThisAdventureLife

HistoryPassportTemplate_inside_ThisAdventureLife

The boys are keeping theirs tucked into the corner of their desk calendar for easy access. So far, I hear good things about them; they’re anxious to start using them! If you’re using a pretend passport with your kids, please tell me about it in the comments. I’m interested in other things to use them for.

Warmly,

~h

9 responses

  1. This is such a fun idea. LilMIss is actually excited and has been bugging me all day to get these finished so they will be ready when our history books get here. I love the pages you took so much care to put together. Will you be sharing the links for the stamps and things you found as well?

    January 11, 2011 at 7:21 pm

  2. I just Google Searched ‘travel stamps’ and ‘passport stamps’ and came up with a bunch. So far, I’ve just been pulling pictures or icons for that part of the world and printing them and taping them into their books. We’ve done one for tornado alley, the fertile crescent and for ‘world traveling’ for putting together puzzles of the continents.
    I’ll show you if you guys are still coming over this week.
    ~h

    January 11, 2011 at 9:05 pm

  3. Pingback: Lapbooks and Other Updates « This Adventure Life

  4. Pingback: Summer Fun Passport « This Adventure Life

  5. I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else encountering problems with your website.
    It appears as though some of the written text in your posts are running off the screen.
    Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them too?

    This could be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before. Thanks

    October 17, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    • Hi Betty!
      Thanks for letting me know that you’re having a problem. I haven’t had anyone else comment with that problem. Maybe try a different browser? I use Chrome, and have never had trouble with viewing pages.

      If that doesn’t help, you might try viewing the post on its own page, instead of the home page view.

      I hope that helps!
      Warmly,
      ~h

      October 19, 2012 at 7:37 am

  6. Pingback: Travel: Make A Pretend Passport | Home School Years

  7. hurley thurston

    Thank you solo much for your templates. I am looking to do a passport fro my Girl Scout Service Unit, and this is a wonderful start.

    February 12, 2014 at 3:05 pm

  8. Brooke

    Wonderful!! I love the passport ‘stickers’

    July 24, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment: