Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Summer Fun Passport

I was going to start this post off with a line about wanting to know what my kids are up to when they’re not with me. Then, I realized that there are very few instances when my kids are not with me, and so that wasn’t an applicable way to begin…

But the principle applies – *if* my kids were away from me, especially on a somewhat regular basis, I’d want to know what they were doing. By the same token, I thought that it would be neat for Appleberry, Huckleberry Pie & Red Butler to have a  record of everything we did this summer to take home with them.

And so, the ‘Summer Fun Passport’ was created!

I took my existing history passport and changed the color scheme and updated the text. Then I searched Google for clip art of things we’ve done – tennis camp, swimming, sleepovers, the library, summer reading club, spending time with grandparents, movie posters, etc… and put them into a document with text (in some cases).

Then I printed the pictures, cut them out and glued them into the spaces just like passport stamps and added dates and notes (if they weren’t typed out).

The result turned out pretty good, and is a visual record of what we did this summer!

I added the templates I made if you’d like to make your own:

Summer Fun Passport Cover and map BLANK

I print the covers, then turn the page and slide it back through for the map to print on the opposite side. Then I do the same thing with the map pages for the insides. They don’t align 100% perfectly, but they’re pretty close. It may take a bit of fiddling with flipping the pages to get them to print evenly; on mine, I have to turn the page over and upside down so that the margins match up. But if they don’t, it’s not that big of a deal; most of the lines will be covered with pictures, stickers or text anyway.

I also left blank spaces on the back so that you can add your homeschool crest or logo, and a message to the kids on the back. If you make one, link back and let me know! I’d love to see how this idea gets adapted!

Warmly,

~h

One response

  1. Pingback: Summer 2013 – Week 1 | This Adventure Life

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

