Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Winter Break 2015-2016

So I had this whole post planned… I went in last week and updated with all the things we had on the books for this week, and I made sure to prompt myself so that I wouldn’t forget anything – and it was going to be so good! I was going to get a gold star and everything… and then, illness struck. UGH! I hate being sick. I am never sick, so when I am, it’s like the universe wants to play catch up and make me suffer the pains and woes of all the days I went off scott free since the last time I was sick (which is, by my best estimate, sometime in 2011-ish. Maybe). I’ve spent the last week freezing, wheezing, coughing, shivering, burning with fever, congested, and snotty. HOW can your face be totally swollen and clogged up AND be dripping snot?? Who designed the human body, because I have complaints. I’ve coughed so much that the muscles in my sides and back are sore. Ridiculous.

Moving on to more pleasant topics, I really did have plans for this point, stretching back to last week. Unfortunately, a lot of them got scratched, seeing as I was moonlighting as Typhoid Mary for a few days. So I’ll leave what I had in tact and you can see what we missed.

***

Recently, we said goodbye to our trusty Honda Odyssey, and bought a Dodge Journey. As sad as I am to see the van go, I am glad to be out of a minivan and into something that’s … less mom-ish. I loved my Honda, for sure. It was great for family stuff and company, and as a homeschooling family always on the go, it was perfect for long trips with school on-board. But I never saw myself as a mini-van mom, so it’s nice to be into something that fits my mental perception of myself. I thought I had a picture of the van to post, but it seems that I don’t. I also haven’t gotten a picture of the new car either, so I guess it’s a thing I don’t do. <shrug>

Our Thanksgiving was pretty normal/low-key, as usual. My family doesn’t celebrate holidays, so we don’t have a conflict over who to spend holidays with like many do, for which I am grateful. Then again, we’re pretty chill, so I feel like it wouldn’t be an issue either way, but still. After Thanksgiving, we decorated the house for Christmas. We got a real tree this year! After many years preferring a fake, pre-lit tree, this has been a nice change. It smells heavenly! We’ve had a real tree in the past, spruce, not fir, and I wasn’t a fan. The needles were long and made decorating both difficult and the decorations hard to see. They also went positively everywhere. This time, we went with a noble fir this time (my preference of the fir options) and I think it’s perfect.
CAM02770

CAM02773

In other news, I finally got to participate in NaNoWriMo! I do better with a ‘group’ – I like groups. They keep me motivated and accountable, and in the course of another project, I stumbled across Golden Triangle NaNoWriMo’s weekly meet-up a couple of weeks into NaNoWriMo 2015 (November). I wasn’t able to complete the challenge, which is 50,000 words in 30 days, but I made it to 17,000+ for total word count, with over half of that dedicated to the novel I am working on with The Hauswife (who needs to update her blog). Shenanigans and excuses aside, I am happy with my progress and effort considering the deadline and coming in halfway through, it’s not too shabby. I am already planning for 2016 though, and fully intend on meeting the goal. Luckily, there are a couple of Camp NaNoWriMo challenges between now and next November!

nano-2015-participant-banner

NaNoWriMo also has a Young Writer’s Program, which I hope I can convince the boys to attempt next year. One of the moms in our group recently recommended One Year Adventure Novel as a language arts/English/Grammar option, and I have been really considering it for January. If we started then, they’d be almost done by the end of November. Granted, that’s not the same as writing a novel in a month, but if they enjoy the year-long program, they might find themselves up to the challenge for November 2016. It might also be a good thing for our homeschool group to consider for the coming year. It would be great for the kids to have a writing group, I think.

AMSET Holiday Tree Lighting – we didn’t get to go because mom was sick. Boo. I’ve seen some of the pictures though, and it looks like we missed a great time.

Social Studies Club – Japan – this was originally scheduled for this week, but got rescheduled, so YAY! That means we’ll still be able to present. Rather than doing individual projects this time, the kids and I went with a group project. We are relating the history of kabuki – ‘the art of singing and dancing’. More on that next week (with pictures).

TH Teen Social at the mall – we missed it because mom was sick. Boo!

Homeschool Book Club is going well – we actually managed to not only finish the books for December, but also write out the discussion questions and prepare for them. Gold stars all around! The book club meeting is next week, so I’ll have more on that as well.

Even though we have a few things coming up on the calendar, including LBB’s 14th birthday, and Loverly Husband’s birthday, ‘officially’, we’re out of school until January 5th. We usually take all of December for Winter Break – at least that’s the plan. Inevitably, we still have school into the first week or so of December because of last-minute company or vacation days or something else that throws us off. This year is no exception, since I was sick this week, that means make-up work next week. Alas, the joy and flexibility of homeschooling means that it’s really not a problem!

Warmly,
~h

 

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

