Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Summery Time Fun

Last time I posted, I was complaining about wanting the school year to be over; I was ready for summer to begin. Now that we’re officially ‘in summer’, though our school year has mostly wrapped up and we’re taking it a little easy on classwork, our calendar is even more packed than usual.

I don’t know why I am surprised. Summers are always busier for us than the school year. Between my niece Fred (who has asked to be re-named and is so christened Appleberry) visiting with us for much of the summer, the addition of Tennis Camp that starts next week, and my two new additions (friends’ kiddos who are visiting for the summer and staying with us once a week) Red Butler and Huckleberry Pie, our house is extra full.

It’s always interesting getting to know new kids. The two new boys are visiting from Cali; Texas is completely new to them – from the heat to the bugs, it’s been fun watching them acclimate. We spent much of their first week in town together since they’d be staying with us. They fit right in, with personalities similar to  each of my boys. We’ve also had quite an influx of new blood into the homeschool group, and with the addition of the boys to our weekly routine, I am continually amazed by the readiness of my children to accept and integrate new people with ease. So often, I have seen the ‘new kid’ sitting shyly off to the side, waiting for an invitation to join a group of kids. In our homeschool group, that has never been an issue. The old-timers are there with welcoming handshakes and immediate invitations to the new kids to come play. They don’t have the cliquishness of the classroom, and it doesn’t matter if the new kids are  older or younger or smarter or more talented – in homeschool, they’re all equal and it is lovely to see.

In the last couple of weeks, we’ve been super busy. I know I say that all the time, but I really mean it this time! In addition to our regular weekly outings with our homeschool group, we got signed up for the summer reading club with our local library (there’s an adult SRP this year, too!), and the kids are doing Tennis Camp; we have the summer movie clubs at a couple of local theaters and of course we have karate and roller derby taking up our time as well. Thankfully, we do get a couple of ‘home days’ each week and we can fall into the pool for a truly relaxing day.

In addition to that, we’re wrapping up the final pages of this year’s ‘grade’ curriculum and starting on summer reviews. Since we’re so busy with out of the house stuff, desk time is few and far-between, so we’ve scaled back to a couple of days of seat-work per week; there are plenty of educational opportunities coming up that we’ll partake of fully.

I can’t believe that my babies are growing up so fast! LBB will start 5th grade soon, and PeaGreen will start 4th. I am in awe that even though we spend every day together, the time is still just FLYING by. I thought that homeschooling would slow things down a bit, but I am still finding that some days just end too soon.

Here are some pics from our recent escapades:

Hope your summer is off to an equally adventurous start!

Warmly,
~h

2 responses

  1. Looks like a great summer so far! My kiddo isn’t in school yet so he technically doesn’t have a summer, but the weather being so great, we’ll take advantage of the season and do some more outdoor stuff.

    June 10, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    • I love having a busy schedule with lazy summer days to enjoy – when mine were little, we had playgroup, story time at the library and some friends and I got together and did a weekly babysitting co-op. I miss those days! Enjoy your summer with your little one – soon enough, it passes 🙂
      ~h

      June 10, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

