Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Is it Summer Break yet?

You know that I love homeschooling, right? But there are times, now being one of them, that I sometimes wish we did a more traditional school schedule. Why?

Two words: SUMMER VACATION.

Not that we don’t break regularly; our ‘normal’ schedule is 4 weeks of school, 1 week off. In the past, we did 6 weeks on/ 1 week off, and last year we did 4/1 all the way through the summer. This year, I adjusted our schedule so that we take a month off in the summer. unfortunately, it’s not for a few weeks yet. I’m ready for it now! {stomps foot} Still, the idea of a three-month long vacation sounds heavenly.

I think that my current want is due to the fact that yesterday, the kids got done with their work super fast and we spent the afternoon lazing about in the pool. The weather was Perfect™, the sun was bright; I brought my Nook and my iPod out there, so we had awesome music and I alternated between sun, water and shade for a good three hours. It was divine.

Today, it’s wet, rainy and a little bit cooler than it has been for the past few weeks – which is nice, don’t get me wrong. But I was just settling into the summer vibe. Now, I have to find a sweater.

In any case, we’ll be trucking along today – Fridays are spelling tests, geography, literature; and we’re working on our timeline & 2 lapbooks (science and history). I’ll have our gator lapbook posted in a bit as well.

Hope your Friday takes you into an awesome weekend!
Warmly,

~h

 

 

One response

  1. Our weather has been insanely fickle these days too, even within the day. For instance, this morning was cloudy, but I know in the later afternoon it’ll shine bright and sunny!

    May 11, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

