Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

NBTS Blog Hop: School Room

I don’t think I participated in the NBTS Blog Hop last year, and I remember being super envious of all the lovely homeschool rooms and such, so I wanted to participate this year. This week is ‘school room week’ and though I am chiming in late, I am glad to play along!

I’ve mentioned over the past few months that we’e in a transition phase, house-wise. With several home improvement projects going on, we currently have a bit of a cluttered mess in the homeschool room. August is the middle of our school year, not the beginning, but we usually take stock and re-organize a bit with all the ‘back to school’ excitement. Plus, our homeschool group does follow the traditional school year calendar, so even though for us the school year is nearing a close, August still is a ‘beginning’ of sorts.

We’re actually back in the school room though, after a few months of combined unbearable heat/storage related issues forced us into the kitchen for school. I have to say that transporting our stuff from one room to the next, then back again at the end of the day makes me really value having a whole room that is dedicated to schoolish pursuits. Even with the added clutter, we still have floor space and room to move. We’ve added some shelving (and yet still have book-storage issues) and with all of the moving around, all of the craft supplies have also moved into the school room. I’m hoping to add more shelves up close to the ceiling for some long term book storage and seasonal/holiday oriented materials.

I did take down most of the posters that we had on the walls. I left up the US map and our calendar (though it’s hidden behind the guitar and drums at the moment). They were bugging me, so I cut some of them up into flash-card pieces and others into envelope activities. The ones that couldn’t be cut up are going to go in a big artists’ portfolio for easy use. I also made anchor charts on a giant pad and keep it on one of the chalkboards to flip through as needed.

Here’s how it looks now:

I don’t know how much sense this will make, but I don’t have a panoramic camera, so I tried to do a panoramic layout. Meh. If you can decipher it, this is how 3 walls of our schol room look today:

The picture makes it look bigger than it is. From left to right, the supply cabinet, my desk and in the corner is a chalkboard, our calendar, a set of file cabinets that kinda got cut off in the picturing process, LBB’s desk (today; they keep switching back and forth), a room divider screen (to put between the boys when they start bugging each other) and PeaGreen’s desk with the new shelving above, and  the door – up the stairs is our living room.

One of the things that strikes me most about how our room is right now is the sheer amount of THINGS that are in here. In fact, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to participate this week because of all the ‘extra’ stuff in our room right now.  This is the most we’ve had in here since we started homeschooling and it’s both depressing and motivating to look at all the bright, cheerful spaces that are open and – not spare, but definitely more streamlined. I’m making notes for what I want our school room to look like and hopefully will be making that happen soon.

Want:

Harry Potter Lumos Nox Light Switch Plate by kayleighm on Etsy  

I love the HP lightswitch plate and the desks would work well in our school room, I think. My main ‘want’ right now is to paint. I love the light aqua in the desk picture; we have orange, blue and green on the walls, which isn’t bad, but could be better.

In any case, that’s how our school room looks right now!

Warmly,

~h

To see the other participants, click the picture, or click here.

5 responses

  1. I’m glad to see you also used the word “schoolish”. 🙂 Great idea with those clipboards. I hope you can get some of the new things you want soon.

    August 12, 2011 at 4:51 pm

  2. I really like the cheerful colors in your room–after looking at other school rooms on the blog hop, I’m starting to regret our neutral tan walls. Maybe I should have picked more “energizing” colors like orange and light green!

    Can one ever have enough shelves? Apparently, I can’t, because we have a lot and we still have junk all over the floor.

    Have a great year of learning together!

    August 12, 2011 at 7:43 pm

  3. A screen-hmm great idea! I’m not there yet, but will be someday! Love the green wall and the shelves about the desk, too. Yay for being almost ready for a break!!

    August 13, 2011 at 1:21 am

  4. Preeti

    Can you give details about how you attached the table to your bookshelf and what kind of table was it

    March 3, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    • Are you referring to the dual desk set up with the shelf in the middle? That’s not my picture; it’s one that I posted for inspiration. I’m kinda curious how they did that too!
      🙂
      Thanks for commenting!
      ~h

      March 3, 2012 at 5:20 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

