Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Lazy Summer Days

This is undoubtedly something that we just don’t get enough of around here. Take, for example, this week… we’re out of school (it’s one of our regularly scheduled week-long breaks in our year-round school schedule) and so far, we’ve been go-go-go, and will continue to be so until at least Thursday. So that really only leaves us with 2 days of ‘break’ and 2 days of weekend.

Don’t get e wrong, I generally love having a busy schedule, but there are times when I look at my calendar and end up wanting to chuck it out the window. To be fair, sometimes I do shed the plans in favor of relaxing family fun, but sadly, this week will not be one of those times.

I started the week with bad news/good news. My eyes have been hurting a lot lately – very light sensitive (photophobic, almost) and almost like dry eyes but not quite… I know why; it’s because I wear disposable contacts that I don’t dispose of when I’m supposed to. I wear and wear and wear them until I can’t anymore and that’s lead to what amounts to scratches on my corneas and an incredible amount of irritation and swelling. We started off yesterday morning with a trip to the optometrist. So the bad news is that contact lenses are, for the foreseeable future, verboten. Furthermore, my future as a contact lens candidate is questionable. I’m currently on a ‘take these eye drops for a week and then come back and we’ll see’. It’s also been 7 years since my glasses prescription has been updated, so they have been woefully out of date for sometime now. I’ve been squinting through them for a while now, and I was informed that I’d fail a driving test with the current pair. The good news is that I got new glasses and rx sunglasses out of the deal.

Also, same-day service = Yay!

The rest of the week consists of trying to fit in painting my bedroom a lovely blue called ‘daring indigo’ in amongst playgroup (vegan/vegetarian & fermented foods luncheon rescheduled due to the first forecasted rainstorm in 8 months), summer reading club plans (bug cooking and eating today, a NASA presentation tomorrow) and  visiting our lovely friend SFK, whom we haven’t seen for 2 whole weeks.

One of these days though, we’re going to have to take a blanket out to the woods and just laze about with books to read and tasty cool drinks to sip. We may through a couple of  magnifying glasses and a pair of binoculars in the bag for good measure and do some exploring at the edges of the blanket or high in the trees. That sounds like a good plan to me.

Warmly,

~h

2 responses

  1. Whew! You do stay busy, don’t you? I’ve been putting off a painting project for months now–our basement has 2 painted walls and 2 to go. I also promised our daughter she could paint her room this summer and that hasn’t happened yet!

    I need those lazy days to recharge my batteries. I get frazzled after three or four intense days in a row! It’s funny how I always imagine summer as a lazy time for relaxing, yet it never quite happens that way. But we do steal a day here and there to just do nothing.

    Hope your eyes feel better! 🙂

    July 21, 2011 at 9:59 am

  2. Yeah, we really do. We’ve been taking it easy for the last few weeks, which is why I’ve been MIA since the ‘bugs’ post. We’ve gotten the bedroom done and now are resting up to start on painting the kids’ rooms, living room and kitchen. It’s not a big house, but when you’re contemplating covering ever wall with multiple layers of paint, it makes you question whether or not moving into a studio apartment might be preferable, LOL.

    Hope you guys get your rooms painted and finished! You’ll ‘feel’ so much better about them when the task is completed.
    ~h

    July 22, 2011 at 2:38 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

