Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Chicken Mummy III: Pharaoh Kirby I

Welcome to Week Three of our Chicken Mummy Project! If you’re new here, you can find previous posts here: Week I and Week II.

Originally, this was supposed to be a six-week long project, with us changing the salt and spice mixture each week and weighing our chicken. However, life for in the way during weeks 3 and 4, so Week Three is really Week Five. After we un-bagged Pharaoh Kirby and got him cleaned off though, he’s still pretty mushy, so we’re going to call it Week III and keep it up for a couple more weeks and see if he’ll go ahead and completely dry out.

On to the pictures!

Let me start out by saying that he’s definitely smellier this week. I don’t know if it is because we left him for longer than we should have or what, but there was some ripeness going on in that bag. I was thinking that he wasn’t slimy, but after we de-bagged, slime was indeed present. Fortunately for me, I was acting as photographer and the kids (in gloves) dealt with the body all on their own.

I was surprised at how much… mushiness was left. I really expected there to be more dried out, tough leathery skin texture, but honestly there wasn’t much change between week 2 and now. I am thinking that’s because we didn’t change the salt as necessary – we’ll have to compare for week 4 to be sure.

The boys enjoyed picking at the skin – lots of fat still visible underneath. They really got in there and examined the texture – I stayed well back from His Odoriferousness, but the boys didn’t seem to mind all that much.

We weighed him again. He started out at 5lbs. At Week Two, he was down by 1lb and he’s down again, to 3.2lbs this week. So the salt is working, just slower than I’d expected. I’m curious to try this again (maybe next year) with a different drying mixture to chart the differences.

They wrapped up by making giant soap bubbles in the kitchen. You can see the container that the body is in on the counter to the left of LBB. That’s how you know you’re a ‘real’ homeschooler, or so I am told – all the strange things that are on your counters or in your cabinets ‘becoming’.

Warmly,

~h

4 responses

  1. Len

    Oh, I thought we where the only ones with strange “experiments” siting throughout the house, nice to know it’s not just us. I may even have to show my hubby the proof. Love your idea, my kids are still a little young to try this yet but I will keep it in mind.

    April 29, 2011 at 12:12 am

  2. Wow, what a really neat project! We do an archaeology program at the museum I work at and this would be a really interesting project to add to it!

    June 1, 2011 at 11:11 am

  3. I thought it was pretty nifty – kinda gross, but interesting. It definitely has helped illustrate a ton of different ideas (water in the body, being an undertaker or priest, dressing a body vs. not re: smell, process of decay). It’s been a great learning tool.

    We still have to do our final post and bury the poor clucker… he’s still in the kitchen. I kinda suck at long-term follow through, lol.
    ~h

    June 1, 2011 at 8:36 pm

  4. Pingback: Chicken Mummy IV: Pharaoh Kirby I « This Adventure Life

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

