Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Bloggity-Blog-Blog

Mothering Magazine posted a ‘where’s your blog‘ post on Facebook today, so I’ve spent much of this evening (child-free that it is, thanks to my sister graciously taking my heathens for tonight in exchange for my taking hers tomorrow since Fred is on Spring Break this week) browsing some awesome mama-blogs whilst watching television.

Since I’ve been hit by some of them, I thought I’d recommend a few (you know, in case your reader has been looking a little light lately). Not all are homeschooling blogs, but they caught my eye and I’m sure you’ll find them stimulating as well. If you’re a natural/crunchy mama, then the original link above will bring you all kinds of blog-linky goodness for days.

Stay at Home Mayhem‘s definitive posts on self, life and motherhood make for fun reading (pun intended… because she titles her posts with a word, then defines it and expands upon it in the text.) Clevah.

Mt. Moe Academy – “Make the Most of Every Day”, aka ‘Mt. Moe’ features posts by all the members of the family – a neat concept that, while not particularly wordy, has great pictures and great ideas. Be sure to check out the awesome pianos in Can You Play?

Pink and Green Mama is a former teacher turned stay at home mom with over 400 crafty activities to make and do. We’re particularly enchanted with the pine cone elves. It’s a Christmas decorating post, but we’re thinking they’ll look great as fairies in our living playhouse once the flowers climb and bloom!

Renegade Mothering has her fair share of sass and apparently the most beautiful baby on the planet. I’m thinking she might be biased because clearly, she hasn’t seen MY babies, but that’s neither here nor there. Her ruminations of the changes that year 9 brings to the mother-child dynamic brought tears to my eyes (so naturally, never one to suffer alone or in silence, I want to make you people cry, too). Go read it and tell me she didn’t hit the nail on the head.

And through her, I found Checking the Electrical Box. I’m adding the directives in Driving Miss Crazy to my living will immediately. Continuing to read requires a coffee-warning: no drinking while reading lest your computer suffer incalculable damage (unless your extended warranty is expiring soon and you need a new one – after all, that’s what ‘accident’ means, right??).

Blog on!

Warmly,

~h

Disclaimer: While I do, in fact, read all of the blogs in my blogroll (located in the sidebar), I need to clarify that I don’t read them all in one day… or even check in as often as I should. I just wanted to let you know that so you don’t think I sit on my butt for hours at a time reading blogs. Because that almost never happens. Really.

2 responses

  1. Hey, thanks for the “shout out” regarding the 9-year old post! She is MESSIN’ WITH ME. Today I contemplated donating her to the Goodwill. Not really. Well, sort of not really.

    So excited to have found your blog (via your finding mine – how cool is that?), because I am starting to home school my son beginning this Fall. Kindergarten. Totally overwhelmed but very excited and determined.

    Good to “meet” you…we’ll be in touch.

    Again, thank you.

    March 20, 2011 at 10:25 pm

  2. LOL Mine were rescued by my sister this evening. I was on the verge of a full-on Mommy Meltdown (brought on by whinging at the directive to Go. Play. Outside. RIGHTFREAKINGNOW!) when she called and offered the poor dears refuge.

    I’m all about the linky-linking – I’m glad you found me via me finding you 😀 Ha! Blogging is fun!

    Homeschooling’s not so hard. ‘Specially with those awesome mochavodkalattetini’s. (Kidding. I kid. Seriously. You don’t put vodka in a martini.)

    Thanks for commenting. I’m looking forward to future contact!
    ~h

    March 20, 2011 at 10:52 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

