Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Welcome Back!

Monday, January 3, 2011: Year 2, Day 1 of homeschooling at T.H.E. Academy. If you’re new to ThisAdventureLife, I bid you welcome. If you’re back on the blogging wagon with the beginning of the new year and just rolling through to see what we’re up to, welcome back.

Let me start with an intro. Our cast of characters includes me, your hostess with the mostest, recently crowned ‘Queen of Homeschooling’ by an admirer, the Divine Miss ~h. {beauty pageant wave} My kids are 9-year-old LittleBoyBlue and 7.5-year-old PeaGreen. They’re somewhere between 2nd and 4th grade, depending on what subject you’re asking about, and between 3rd and 5th grades if you’re talking reading-level. For sanity’s sake, we’re calling it ‘Year 2’ and leaving it at that. The daddy-shaped figure in our home is Loverly Husband, gamer geek and techno-wizard-extraordinnaire. But enough about us…

I’ve taken the last month or so off from frequent blogging because we’ve been out of school. Our school year runs from January through the beginning of December, then we’re off for the month. Like most people, we have birthdays and holidays and family obligations that keep us busy during that time, so we plan our school year with a break in mind. After reading some blogs from families who don’t take off, I’m thinking that was a good plan! With all that vacation and relaxation, it’s given us plenty of time to rest up and start anticipating being back ‘in school’. I’ve also missed you people in blog-land! Now that our year is starting up again, I’ll be blogging pretty often again.

I wanted to take this opportunity to open the floor to questions. If you’re curious about something that I’ve written about or done, please feel free to ask in the comments. I’m not an expert (crown notwithstanding), but I’ll definitely have an opinion or two for you to contemplate. {wink}

I’m scheduling this post, so it will go up while we’re doing lessons. I’ll probably update it in the evening with a re-cap of our day, so check back if you’re interested in how our ‘first day’ went. If you’re starting back today too, then comment with a link to your blog and tell us how your first day back went, too!

Warmly,

~h

 

 

One response

  1. Amy R

    I finished Siblings Without Rivalry last night, and thought it full of good ideas. Glad to see the parent of older siblings also finds it useful. Think I’ll order Listen/Talk next. Happy New Year!

    January 3, 2011 at 8:23 am

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

