Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Yule Lapbook and Birthday Countdown

This Friday is LBB’s 9th birthday. Can I just say, OMG – I cannot believe that my BABY is already NINE years old?? Where has the time gone? It seems like it was just last week that we were bringing him home for the first time and now, we’re halfway done with raising an adult.

Watching them now (they’re sorting laundry while I watch and direct), they’re growing out of all their clothes – we just went through them a few months ago and already they have things that are too small in the rotation. I’m amazed at how tall they both are.

{sigh}

So this week, we’re out of school of course, but that doesn’t mean that we’re not learning. One of the disadvantages of our schedule is that we’re not officially in school for the bulk of the holiday season, thus no holiday-oriented lesson plans. It’s a shame, really, because there are such wide opportunities for history and social studies associated with holiday traditions.

Nonetheless, there are several lesson plans that we’ll work on over the next few weeks that are holiday-themed in addition to running through basic skills drills. I found several great resources that I’m combining to make a history of/traditions of Christmas, Solstice and Yule lapbook:

I’ll have a full-page with the exact resources we used and pictures of our completed book on a new page under the lapbooks tab up top when we’re done, but I wanted to go ahead and post the resources in case anyone else is looking for them. We still have our Thanksgiving lapbook that needs to be posted, and PeaGreen came up with a Robot themed lapbook that we finished; hopefully I’ll have those posted today or tomorrow.

Other plans for this week include a trip to SFK’s for some crafting and cookie-baking; I’ve been meaning to make stockings for all of us for some time and am planning on making that happen tomorrow. I’m very excited about the prospect of paper-crafting. Ever since our last mod-podge extravaganza, I’ve been jonesing for more. I’m promised mod-podge goodness simply for showing up tomorrow.

We’re also saying goodbye to our local La Leche League group this week; December marks my 7th and last year as a LLL Leader. I haven’t had a nursling in 4 years now, and with homeschooling I just don’t have the time to devote to it anymore. It’s sad, but nice to be moving on, too. There’s a breastfeeding coalition starting up (or re-starting) to fill the peer-support gap. Without the ‘reputation’ that LLL has, I think the change will be good.

Even without ‘school’ we manage to maintain a pretty packed schedule. Add in other birthday planning and fall/winter crafting (making drums, candy-making, gift-crafting and baking) and we have a heavy list of things to accomplish before the end of the year!

What are your plans for this week?

Warmly,

~h

7 responses

  1. My eldest turned nine only a few weeks ago too it really hit me when I thought about the ‘halfway to adult’ thing!

    Thank you for all of the fabulous links. 🙂

    December 6, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    • I know, right? Crazy how fast they grow up! I hope you found some stuff you guys can use 🙂
      ~h

      December 8, 2010 at 2:30 pm

  2. Jeannette

    Sorry to hear you’re retiring from LLL! Thanks for all the support you gave to so many–including me–over the last seven years! Glad to hear there will still be breastfeeding peer-support in the area.

    December 7, 2010 at 9:11 am

    • Thanks, Jeannette! I’m glad the other mamas are stepping up and helping each other. I’m so proud to be a part of this awesome community of supportive moms!
      ~h

      December 8, 2010 at 2:31 pm

  3. My little guy and your LBB share the same birthday. Seven years difference, but cool none-the-less. 🙂 Enjoy celebrating. And so cool about being a LLL leader for so many years. How awesome!

    December 9, 2010 at 1:23 pm

  4. Taleena

    None of the links are working anymore.

    December 5, 2016 at 10:57 am

    • LOL – this post is 6 years old. A lot of sites go dormant or the blogger deletes their site when they no longer keep their blog up. I don’t usually go back and update broken links on my old posts, but I appreciate the heads up 🙂 I don’t know what sites would be equivalent to what was originally posted, but a Google search might yield some decent results. Good luck!
      Warmly,
      ~h

      December 5, 2016 at 10:44 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

