Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Snuggly Mornings

Of all the perks that homeschooling has brought to our lives, I think ‘snuggly mornings’ are probably my favorite. Add wintertime weather to them and life is practically perfect in every way.

This morning has been one such lovely time. We’re out of school until January, and since it’s been cooler the boys are sleeping later. The house is quiet and peaceful until after 10AM, and even then they’ve been pretty calm which is as unusual as it is appreciated.

I made hot chocolate and we’ve been sitting here sipping it for the last little while. They’re playing video games and I’m multi-tasking; writing here, Facebooking (some friends and I got interviewed yesterday for our local paper’s coverage of breastmilk-sharing as made interesting and news-worthy by Eats on Feets groups; we’ve been celebrating making the front page all morning, lol), and researching curriculum for next year (which seems to happen anytime I get in front of a computer).

I got my lesson planner printed earlier this week, and now it’s all marked and color-coded for next year’s schedule, which appeals to the OCD side of my personality and makes me insanely happy. I added a new page here with all of my forms in .pdf format. Feel free to browse, mix-and-match and print for your own use. Mine was about $30 by the time I printed everything and had it bound; if I had planned better it would’ve cost only half that (I mistakenly printing everything out, then had to re-copy half of it so that the pages were front-and-back). I’ve refined my lesson planner every year (the first one was made back in 2004 when the boys were in pre-home-school); as much as I liked this past year’s planner, I think this new one is the best version yet. I’ve added some new pages and changed up the school schedule (4 weeks on, 1 week off instead of 6 on) and we’re going to do a M-F week instead of M-Th. I am glad that we did a lighter schedule for our first year, and while I don’t feel like the boys are behind in anything, I can see a need to be a little more rigorous in our second year.

Even on our ‘break’, we’re still doing drills (math and Latin, a little geography and some language arts flash cards) so that they don’t lose ground. With only a 4 week break, I don’t think they’ll lose much, but better to be safe than sorry. I’ve been letting them drill each other, which seems to motivate both of them. It’s lovely to see that level of cooperation between them.

This afternoon, we’re heading out for a cuppa joe and browsing workbooks and school supplies, maybe some holiday browsing as well. Hope your Wednesday is as pleasant!

Warmly,

~h

2 responses

  1. We’ve been commenting all week about how grateful we are that we don’t have to stand outside in the cold at 7:00 every morning to wait for the bus this year. We aren’t taking the month off, but I’ve lightened up the load a bit. Thanks for the forms. I’ve been trying to decide what I want to change for the second half of our year (I print forms about a month at a time, except for a yearly block calendar for overall planning), and I’ll definitely take a look at yours for some new ideas. Thanks!

    December 1, 2010 at 2:04 pm

  2. I love your new planner! I’m going to look through the forms for myself soon. Glad you guys are getting some snuggle time in!

    December 1, 2010 at 2:36 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

