Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Because Smrt Mama Said To


If you read Smrt Lernins, then you may have seen this post, You Are Amazing (and Beautiful and Accomplished). She says:

You are awesome.

Not a little bit awesome. Not sorta kinda awesome. You are thoroughly, completely, and incredibly awesome.

Really, have you looked at yourself lately? Have you taken a moment to consider your many amazing qualities?

Then, she issues a challenge to us; we who routinely care for the needs of others most likely without often taking the time to see to our own. Sounds simple enough, right? Take five minutes to focus on the things about yourself that are phenomenal – anyone can do that! Oh, but wait. There’s a hitch. While you’re doing this exercise, you must not qualify any statement that you make with a derogatory comment. No, “I’m great except for…” type comments. Are you up for the challenge?

Make a list of five amazing, beautiful physical qualities about yourself.

1. I have awesome eyes.

2. I have great grooves and definition in my calf muscles from biking, hiking and land drills.

3. I have amazing hair. It’s long and soft and silky and shiny without being too straight or too wavy.

4.  My hips are exactly 10 inches bigger than my waist no matter what my size, which gives me a perfect hourglass figure.

5.  I have dainty hands. Capable, but quite small and girly. That’s a good thing. No ‘man hands’ here!

You know, I had to come back to this one. I’m not vain, the first 3 came to me pretty quickly. I know what I look like and I know how to doll my face up and am capable of dressing with styles that compliment my body type – and I know what camera angles compliment me best – but I really did have trouble with this. I’m not a hag, but I am overweight. If you’ve read my blog at Park People, then you know all the ins-and-outs of my issues. Overall, I’m a pretty confident person, weight notwithstanding. I was raised without focus on weight and only ‘learned’ that fat=unattractive through media. None of my friends ever seemed to care.

When I got pregnant, I was at my highest weight (at that point). I was atypical; I lost weight when I was pregnant and gained weight when I was breastfeeding. It wasn’t until PeaGreen weaned that I went to the doctor and was diagnosed with a thyroid disorder and given medication to help stabilize it. Now, I am still over that but on the way back down thanks to better eating habits (thanks, Spark People!!) and more exercise (thanks to homeschooling and ‘teaching’ PE to my kids, lol). Even so, I generally feel that my physical flaws are more readily apparent than my attributes.

Make a list of five amazing things about your mind.

1. I’m organized. Both inside and mostly out; I can categorize and catalog with the best of them.

2. I’m creative – not in an ‘artsy’ sense, exactly – more an academic sense.

3. I’m organizationally exceptional. When it comes to putting together a new group, I have the foundational aspects of making it happen down pat.

4. I’m great at debate – or at least at defending my viewpoint in one. I can pull facts up to back my position on issues that I feel strongly about with little difficulty.

5. I’ve amassed a wealth of trivia about vampires in literature, art and film.

This one was pretty easy for me (though I kinda cheated on the last one). I’m a smart cookie and I pick up things pretty quickly. I enjoy learning, which is one perk for me now that we’re homeschooling. I have access to and time to expand my knowledge on things that I missed in school.

Make a list of five amazing things you have accomplished.

1. I have been married to my Loverly Husband for over 11 years. We’ve weathered job changes, moves, children, parents, loss and are still going’ strong.

2. I have successfully started and maintained, both in a partnership and on my own, several advocacy/support groups.

3. I have played an important role in the lives of many of the women I’ve come into contact with.

4. I have researched, committed to and lived the parenting philosophy that I believe in.

5. I have forged a life for myself that is apart from other’s expectations of me and am confident in my life’s path and direction.

Again, this section wasn’t very hard for me. Casting off false modesty, I am pretty proud of the things I’ve accomplished in my life. While many would put ‘just a mom’ in air quotes, that’s pretty much all I ever wanted to be (excluding a ballerina when I was 5; a teacher, which I kinda am now; and an artist living in NYC when I was 15-ish – gotta love those teen angst years).  ‘Just a mom’ is an important job, one for me that is fulfilling and satisfying. Add in the other opportunities that I’ve had that have been worked in and around my main Mommy gig and I count myself one fortunate cookie.

Wow. That was actually more challenging than I thought it would be. Now that I have my list, I am going to add this to my ‘about’ page and check it often, especially on bad days. Now, I dare you to write, post and share your own lists. No,  double dog dare you.  {wink}

Warmly,

~h

4 responses

  1. Wonderful lists! Thanks for rising to the challenge of acknowledging all the good things about yourself and for spreading the word to others.

    November 18, 2010 at 11:42 pm

  2. Pingback: I am amazing and so are you. | Emerald Sunshine

  3. I posted! http://emeraldsunshine.org/2010/11/19/i-am-amazing-and-so-are-you/ Thanks for challenging me. 🙂

    November 19, 2010 at 10:07 am

  4. I found your blog today – very excited! This will be our first year homeschooling – 4th and 7th graders. So happy to find your secular site – it’s a huge help 🙂 Thanks for this post in particular – I even filled out my own 🙂

    http://silveroutlinedwindow.wordpress.com/2011/07/27/you-are-amazing-and-beautiful-and-accomplished/

    July 27, 2011 at 8:11 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

