Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Eight Questions

I got caught in a game of tag over at Hearthside Homeschool Reviews! Go check out the previous players and then post your blog in the comments so you can play, too!

The way this particular game is played is that when tagged, you must answer a series of eight questions and then tag eight more people with a new set of questions. Like Lori, I am similarly disdainful of arbitrary rules, so if you’re reading this then consider yourself tagged.

Here are Lori’s questions:

1. What prompted you to begin homeschooling?

Honestly, it was a combination of factors, not the least of which are that my kids were not getting the kind of attention in their former academic setting. It also has to do with what I want for my kids and how I view the public (and private – any ‘institutionalized’ school setting and mindset. I want independent thinkers and I think homeschooling is the best way to accomplish that.

2. What homeschooling book/s have encouraged you in your journey?

I was homeschooled, and had always planned on homeschooling my own children. I started looking into methods and books on when they were babies; The Well Trained Mind was one and is one that I like and still refer to on occasion. We’re not that rigorous or classical, so it’s not a primary resource anymore, but a great reference.

Lately, my choices have been moving more into authors that reform my own thinking about how we learn, like Holt and Mason. J.T. Gatto is an author that I keep meaning to check out but haven’t gotten to yet. I do like Dale McGowan’s books quite a bit.

3. Do you have a favorite read aloud?

Like storybook for the kids? Anything Henkes. I ADORE Kevin Henkes! I also like classics, so I read Tolkien, Carrol and Shakespeare to the children quite a bit. My kids are pretty well-versed on LoTR, lol. Loverly Husband and I are also huge sci-fi nuts, so we’ve ‘made’ the kids listen to all of Frank Hebert’s Dune series on audio (can I just say that Tim Curry rocks as a voice actor?).

4. If you could only have three homeschooling books/curriculum, which would you choose?

meh… I’m not much into text books. I collect them, but I don’t really use them. I’d go more for literature. Lord of the Rings (I’m counting that as one book…), Well Trained Mind, and MEP math. The rest I could get by without.

5. Where can we find your favorite homeschooling blogs?

In my sidebar… I update it pretty frequently, so who ever is there is who I am currently reading.

6. What do you to do to demonstrate continual learning to your kids?

Reading is a big one. I am almost never without a book or three within reach. I answer questions with, “Let’s look that up.” to the point that my kids usually just ask to look things up now. I also try to display a willing attitude to try something new. We’re forever going some place or doing something new, and I always try to remind them to take something away from the experience and we usually reinforce that at home with the next day’s lessons – even if it’s only a question or two. I try not to over-do it.

7. What’s your favorite way to unwind after a crazy day?

Get the kids in bed, then relax with coffee and see what’s on the DVR… and Facebook, lol.

8. Is there a quote you find inspiring?

Many… I list my favorites in the sidebar. A new one that I haven’t added yet is by Isadora Duncan:

‎”Most human beings today waste some 25 to 30 years of their lives before they break through the actual and conventional lies which surround them.”

I want my kids to be open to all the possibilities around them. It took me a long time to ‘find myself’; I hope that my kids don’t have that same kind of struggle.

Here are MY questions for YOU:

  1. What did you do to prepare for homeschooling?
  2. Where do you find your best support for homeschooling?
  3. Where do you encounter the most difficulty in homeschooling?
  4. How do you challenge yourself to be a better teacher?
  5. What is your schedule like?
  6. What has been your best accomplishment as a homeschooling parent?
  7. What item has made the most significant impact to your homeschooling?
  8. What is the most important thing that you want your children to come away with as a homeschooling graduate?

Tag. You’re it!

Warmly,

~h

2 responses

  1. Yay! So glad you played along!

    Now I want to find the Dune audio read by Tim Curry. I usually prefer reading to listening but that sounds pretty cool.

    And we unwind in similar ways. I typically am on Facebook while watching whatever’s on the DVR. 😉 And I ALWAYS have coffee. I need coffee like a vampire needs blood. True story.

    I think it’s awesome that you were homeschooled and then homeschooled your own children. I would love to see that happen with my kids, but we shall see!

    November 5, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    • Oh, it’s awesome. He reads the House books; definitely worth hearing.

      Me, too on the laptop-while-watching-tv. We haven’t ‘watched’ TV in years. There’s always something one of us needs to look up, lol. And true on the coffee/vampire simile. We’re fiends here, too. Even LBB has been asking to jump on the caffeine wagon of late.

      Thanks 🙂 We’d always planned on homeschooling, but things changed and we tried something different for a bit. We were always open to homeschooling though, and I’m so very glad that we are now.
      ~h

      November 6, 2010 at 10:17 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

