Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Lesson Planning for M7 (Oct-Nov 2010)

Naturally, I’ve actually begun planning for next year and some of the groundwork for 2011’s school year is being laid in M7’s lesson planning.

One of the new things we’ll start in January is a formal Latin program. We’ve already begun forming a base for that with this really cool YouTube series:

Learning Latin with Virgil –  Since we’re doing this video series, I wanted flashcards for the boys to review in other places (so we’re not continually tied to the computer for Latin review) so I made flashcards for Lessons 1 – 4. I’ll have more later on. I’m cutting them, pasting onto index cards and laminating them.

FlashcardsLLV1_2_AGibbins_byTAL

Flashcards_LLVLess3_4_AGibbins_byTAL

The Declension Song (lyrics)
Flashcard Exchange (for vocabulary building)

If you’re considering Latin for your homeschool, here’s a comparison chart with the introductory and intensive programs. I have a copy of Ecce Romani book II that I found secondhand; I’m not sure if we” start with that or go with something a little more basic to begin just yet; look for more on that towards the end of December, though ER seems to be a good course, so we’ll probably stick with that. It will depend on how far Virgil takes us. We actually started this a few weeks ago (we’re still on lesson 1) and the boys seem to like it. Since it crosses over with Literature, I’m really quite impressed.

Science:

Along with some of the stuff we’ve already been doing, we’ll begin The Lab of Mr. Q – Classic Science – an almost comic-book style science curriculum that looks like a lot of fun. Our Project Wild course should be soon, so we’ll have a full curriculum from that, which will come in handy with our field trips since we do so many at the local state parks.

History:

History is definitely an area that I’ve struggled with this year as a ‘teacher’. Mosaic, using SWB’s Story of the World (or optional, Gombrich’s A Little History of the World) was recommended to me; but SOTW is very faith-based, IMO and I prefer not to use it. MacroHistory was recommended on SecularHomeschooling.com, so I think we’ll use that and see where it takes us.  I did like the timeline pages on Mosaic, so we’ll do a 2011 THE Academy Time Line – we’re going to do some prep-work this mod so that we can begin a timeline of our school year next year. I am thinking that we’ll do a scroll version, simply because we lack space to lay out a wall timeline.

We’ll also wrap up the outstanding lapbooks we’ve started (hurricanes and The Constitution – that one was way more intensive that I thought it would be and thus have I been completely unmotivated to finish it). This time of year has many opportunities for history lessons that are outside of academia, so we’ll be taking advantage of that as well.

History and Science seem to be the two main areas that our field trips coincide with; this mod is no different – plans include 2 history-themed museums, a children’s museum and a working farm.

Math:

We’re still going strong with MEP math, using Kahn Academy videos to supplement, as well as a hot of other resources from all over (AAAMath, multiplication.com).

Language Arts:

Language Arts is an area that I don’t really use a full curriculum in. We’ve been using Lesson Pathways, and I really like that, but we’re using it as a spine and adding/skipping/re-arranging things to suit what we’re doing rather than a by-the-week guided lesson planner. We read quite a bit, both individually and together. I think that at this age, they’re more interested in hearing a story or reading one than picking it apart to learn what the bits and pieces are, though LBB is going to be getting more and more into that this next year.

PeaGreen is still using MES-English quite a bit; we printed the FunFonix workbook and are still working on that. He’s a flashcard king, so we’ve printed and laminated several sets from there as well. I can definitely see an improvement in his reading ability since we started flashcard drills and doing the reading cards.

We’ve been doing books reports using Story Mapping and Book Report Sandwich. Right now, they’re dictating and I type their thoughts out; hopefully they’ll get better at creative writing as we settle in this year. I also found English Maven that we might use for supplementation.

AAASpell is back on just for fun this mod; they have cute little holiday-oriented lessons for tis time of year, so though we’re not going to be faithfully working on a spelling curriculum, we will have fun with what’s available!

So there you have it.. a somewhat disjointed look at what we’ll be working on for the next 6 weeks or so. I’ll update the ‘our curriculum’ page at some point… I’ve been so lax about keeping that updated! {slaps wrist} This is out last 6 weeks for this school year; we’ll end at the beginning of December and then start fresh with year 2 in January. I can’t believe that we’re almost done with our first YEAR of homeschooling!

Warmly,

~h

10 responses

  1. Hello!
    Visiting you from Secular Homeschoolers 🙂

    Just wanted to say that your Latin plan sounds great…we just started Latin this year and it’s fun!

    Congrats on your almost-first-year of homeschooling.

    October 19, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    • Thanks for stopping my, Melissa!!
      Thanks – we’re taking it slow and having fun with it – nothing fancy. I’ve enjoyed it a great deal, and the kids are more into this than they were Spanish!
      Thanks for commenting!
      ~h

      October 19, 2010 at 6:29 pm

  2. Alexie

    OMG! I can’t believe you’ve been sitting on Macrohistory. It looks so cool! As does all the other links. I just book marked 4 more things!

    October 19, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    • We haven’t used MacroHistory yet… I just found it last week, so it’s all new to me 🙂

      This is why I say we’ve changed our curriculum so many times – it seems like every so often, I find The. Coolest. Thing that we MUST start using immediately, lol. Whoever thinks that homeschoolers lack options is wrong – at least in some subjects!
      Glad you found something you like!
      ~h

      October 19, 2010 at 6:28 pm

  3. yvette

    I love that little cartoon! So funny. I wish I were more of a planner, but alas it runs contrary to my nature 😉 I have done more this year than usual and I have liked it, so it is fun to see how others put it together. Looks like a fun 6 weeks coming up. I admire you for doing the Latin. The idea of tackling ANY foreign language right now makes me want to go to bed and suck my thumb 😀

    Yvette

    October 21, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    • LOL – much as I would love to deny it, that cartoon hits entirely too close to home for me. I tried to go without a day planner when I quit working to become a mom. It took a few months of not knowing which way was up before I realized that I just NEED a plan, and a planner or two to make my life livable. Enter homeschooling and that’s true x 1,000.

      Thanks for the vote of confidence! We’re taking it slow and easy… there’s plenty of time. We tried Spanish before and the program was SO. BORING. This one is really fun and the kids are learning it so… so far, so good 🙂
      ~h

      October 26, 2010 at 9:35 pm

  4. We’re glad to hear you are enjoying the flexibility of LessonPathways!

    You’ve found so many wonderful resources to use in your homeschool – it’s great to read them all! (LOVE the Book Report Sandwich!”

    -Christina S.
    Homeschool Mom
    and
    LessonPathways.com Team Member

    October 22, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    • Thanks, Christina!
      We’ve found some really fun lessons and resources through LP’s recommendations. It’s a wonderful resource!
      ~h

      October 26, 2010 at 9:36 pm

  5. That cartoon is hilarious!

    October 26, 2010 at 7:50 am

  6. Deb

    Thanks for the link to the Latin chart! I am definitely planning on doing Latin, but am at a loss as to when/how to begin. That chart will hopefully help me narrow down my options.

    October 27, 2010 at 1:27 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

