Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

What a week!

Have you missed me?

I’m sorry that I haven’t been updating this week. I’ve been distracted by the AMAZING weather we’ve had all week; hopefully you have too and as a result haven’t even noticed that I haven’t been around much. There are only a few days of truly good weather here and so when they strike I just can’t stay inside. The boys have been asking – asking – to go play outside, and have built 9,000 things in the yard this week (I’ll try to snag a picture of their self-built tree house at some point). We’ve also been biking and hiking every day, so computer time and desk-work has been all but void.

The kids are starting Latin and piano lessons… that’s been interesting. This is the first week of Latin pre-prep (more on that in the Lesson Planning post coming soon) and the second of piano lessons with my grandmother (their great-grandmother). She used to play at our church when I was little and they actually had a real piano. Now it’s all digital, but I remember going with her and sitting with Grandaddy while she went up to play. It’s so weird to think about how much things have changed since then. {/nostalgia}

This past Tuesday, we went with our homeschool group to the Big Thicket for hiking and fun at the Visitor’s Center. We walked the Sundew and Kirby trails – about 2 miles, total. That was a long hike for the kids; I think next time we’ll plan on taking our time a little more. There were a couple of places that we kinda rushed through. I’d like to go back and browse a bit more. It was a really fun day though. We have such a great group of moms – all of the trips we’ve been on since this school year started have been so much fun.

Wednesday and Thursday were spent primarily outside. I opened up the house and cleaned the living room – we’ve been watching ‘Hoarders’ and something about that show really motivates me to perform de-cluttering and deep cleaning, lol. I scrubbed the baseboards and moved all the furniture around and I have to say that despite the fact that it took nearly 3 hours to do the living room, I am extraordinarily pleased with how it looks and feels in there now. The kitchen is soon to be on my list…

After the cleaning sessions, we visited with my parents and took bike trips – much more realistic 1.5 mile trips as opposed to the 3 miles we did on Monday. That was over-doing it a bit, but fun nonetheless. It really made me take note of how much I’ve let myself slack since January, and overall over the past couple of years. About 4 years ago, I got with SparkPeople.com and lost 70lbs… I’ve since gained about 40 of that back (which blows…) so it’s time to start that again. Here’s my SparkPage – if you’re on there, drop by and we’ll keep each other motivated.

Today was Park Day for our homeschool group. We met with them for fun in the sun – the boys took their bikes and they rode the 2 mile track 3 or 4 times. I would LOVE to have that much energy, I tell ya. Afterwards, we came home and I collapsed into my chair with a book for a while, then we got crafty and made some Halloween- y glass candle decanters.

It’s just tissue paper Mod-Podged onto glass jars (these were super-sized Mario olive jars) with a big candle put inside. The kids made smaller versions (chipotle sauce jars) with tea lights put inside. I am going to get the battery-powered kind so they can have them in their room. Since its Oct. 1, we’ll be decorating the house soon… this time of year is always so much fun!

So that’s been our week. Next week doesn’t get any less busy, but I am hoping I’ll have a bit more time to post.

Warmly,

~h

4 responses

  1. Sounds like a great week. I think I might start Sparkpeople again when I get home. I’ll let you know!

    October 1, 2010 at 8:13 pm

  2. Love the jars!! I have so many glass jars at home, we might have to do that!

    October 1, 2010 at 8:15 pm

  3. Yes – we’ve an abundance of glass jars… aluminum cans, too. The crafter in me has a real problem throwing things out that are useful in crafts – nevermind that we have ninety of the exact same thing in the cabinet already, lol.
    ~h

    October 1, 2010 at 8:36 pm

  4. Short on time, but gotta say… Hoarders has the same effect on me. I haven’t seen it all that much – sort of ‘hit or miss’ with TV in my house – but man, I went through my closet after watching it the first time and got rid of two big bags. =D

    And we’ve been Modge Podge-ing here, too. I’ve decided to embark on homemade winter gifts this year… and we decoupaged boxes at our homeschool club today. Must mean fall is in the air. 🙂

    October 1, 2010 at 10:05 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

