Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

“And now, for something completely different”

You ever have one of those mornings, before you get out of bed, where you think it’s going to be a wonderful day… the sun is shining at the crack of 9, the children are in the other room doing something that’s not noisy, but not so quiet as to tingle your spidey senses, and you’ve slept profoundly well… only to get up and realize that the day has completely gone to utter shite the moment your foot hits the floor?

So that’s how my day started out. Le sigh.

Yesterday we had a field trip to some of the museums downtown, then everyone came back to my place for a little visiting fun. We didn’t accomplish much actual ‘school work’ (not to say that the kids didn’t learn anything – just not deskwork) other than reading and piano lessons (which my grandmother has decided that the boys ‘simply MUST learn to play’, and so she’s teaching them… which is really kinda cool). I really thought that today would go smoothly. I figured we’d sleep in a bit since we’ve been on the go so much over the last week, then after a leisurely breakfast, settle in to deskwork.

The morning started out fine, other than me being in a crappy mood. I made a pot of coffee, which helped.. a little, and had the kids do their reading first so I could get into the groove. They read for about 5 of the 20 minutes that is required and then started arguing over space… we have a 1600 square foot house. I am SURE that they could have found a comfy place to read in that was not in close proximity to the other one… but no. They wanted the EXACT SAME PLACE on their bed.  Are you friggin’ KIDDING me?!? o_O

Fast forward to math and handwriting… math was wonderful. LittleBoyBlue and I did his math on the board and one our brand spankin’ new abacus (or ‘counting frame’ if you’re a sticker for accuracy). He excelled, I beamed – it was wonderful. PeaGreen hemmed and hawed on his writing, but did finish it with neatess and relative quickness, so how could I be displeased? We moved on to the first of our lessons on maps, in which we watched a couple of videos on the different types of maps and the kind of info you can find on one, then laid a world map on the floor and played ‘jump to X’. I called out a location (Pacific Ocean, Antarctica, North America, etc…) and they jumped to it. It was fun and they did great – but still the day was tinged with slight displays of irritation, on everyone’s part.

I called a break and decided a change of pace might do us all some good. So we went to the library, grocery shopping and the post office. Then we dropped off some stuff that’s been in the back of the van at Goodwill and brought back an aquarium that we bought not realizing that it was cracked. There’s something about dropping off stuff at Goodwill that always makes me feel lighter somehow. Getting the unnecessary crap out of our house that we’ve accumulated, especially since my grandfathers both died – one grandmother is cleaning out her house and the other has moved in with my aunt, necessitating downsizing – both have sent things my direction and my little house can’t hold it all! I also have baby stuff still from when the boys were small, so all that is gradually making its way out. It feels good – and our house is easier to keep clean with less stuff.

Coming home, we put all the groceries away and right now, I am enjoying peace and quiet… one child is still at piano lessons and the other is sitting in the other room with his nose in a book. That is lovely to see. This whole week, I’ve been saying something I NEVER thought I’d get to say,  especially to LittleBoyBlue: “Put the book DOWN and come do your chores!!”

It’s funny how much something as simple as a change of scenery can improve your outlook. Now, it’s off to make dinner and hopefully tomorrow we will begin anew with a better frame of mind.

Warmly,

~h

2 responses

  1. I think our entire week is shot! We can’t seem to get past the distractions that life presents! Yesterday, we went to the carwash for entertainment purposes!

    Glad to hear that your boys are taking piano lessons! I wish I could get Puddle to commit but it’s just not for him.

    Cool sculpture picture! We saw some notebooks and boxes made out of old computer keyboards Tuesday evening. Very fun!!

    September 23, 2010 at 8:57 am

  2. You rescued that day, great thinking 🙂

    Isn’t that what we all want, to have to tell our kids to get their nose out of a book! Fabulous!!

    September 27, 2010 at 10:57 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

