Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Sunday Surf for 9-12

This week, I actually browsed the web ‘with intent’ – with an eye towards what I would recommend this week. I definitely like that better, and as such I’ve already begun my list for next Sunday’s surf post.

When I started participating in SS, I was trying to keep my recommendations more parenting centered, but that hasn’t been working for me. Since my kids are older, I think it would be odd for my SS post to extol the virtues of cloth diapers and debate the merits of sling vs. crotch-dangler carrier (even though I whole heartedly advocate cloth, at last part-time, and slings are clearly superior to front pack style carriers).

So, I am going to stop trying to fit into the mold that Authentic Parenting has kind of set by the posts that she recommends (not that she only wants XYZ style recommendations or anything – it was my own limits, I think, that were stifling me) and focus on articles that interest and apply to my life.

So, without further adieu, today’s recommended reading can be found at:

  • The Scientific Homeschool’s Using Questions to Create a Climate of Inquiry in the Homeschool Environment points out the benefits of using questions to help your homeschooler learn to think better.
  • Age of Autism’s article, CDC Admits No Rigorous Study Refuting Thimerosal-Autism Link Ever Conducted points out something that I have long felt might be true – that despite assurances that they have eliminated the link between autism and mercury, they really have not done rigorous research to back that claim.
  • SizzleBop’sMean Adults- Part One is the first of a three-part series dealing with adults who don;t like your high-needs kiddo. Excellent and HIGHLY recommended!
  • Enjoy Parenting’s Go With the Flow… Even If It’s ‘Wrong’ was an article that I really took to heart. I have such a linear thought plan as to how the day should progress or how things should be done that I often find myself irritated at deviations from it. This reminder that kids are creative and such thought patterns really are stifling, and can create unnecessary friction.
  • Lesson Pathways’ Blog Carnival of Homeschooling: The Road Less Traveled Edition. This is a collection of posts from various methods and styles of homeschooling that talk about the paths that are open, and how their journeys have begun and changed and where they are now. There is some very interesting reading, so I recommended the entire thread rather than pick out individual posts.

For more Sunday Surfing, visit Breastfeeding Moms UniteDomesticated WomanMaman A DroitHobo Mama and Baby Dust Diaries.

So… what have you been reading this week?

Warmly,

~h

One response

  1. We’re so happy you’ve discovered LessonPathways.com blogs. If you have any questions, feel free to drop me a line at ContactUs@LessonPathways.com.

    Be sure to stop by our blog and Facebook page for more education inspiration!

    -Christina S.
    LessonPathways.com Team Member

    September 14, 2010 at 9:47 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

