Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Field Trip Kit

After our trip out to the wildlife refuge last week, it came to my attention that we were lacking some necessary supplies. After some discussion with the other moms, we decided that we should all probably make up a field trip box to keep in the backs of our vans so that come what may, we’re prepared and ready to hand the kids what they need to make the most of any learning opportunity.

I already keep a first aid kit in the car, and bug spray and sunscreen (through we often forget to take advantage of having them on-hand). I have 2 boys, so the first aid kit gets frequent use – I am sure I need to replenish its contents by now.

After some consideration, as much as I’d love to say that a backpack would work, I think that a bin might work better for us. I have a bunch of rubbermaid 18(ish) gallon containers used for various purposes in our home- they have them on sale at Target after holidays for SUPER cheap – I think one of these might work best for us.

I’m including:

  • binoculars
  • pencils/colored pencils
  • notebook paper & clipboards
  • towels
  • sunscreen
  • bug spray
  • specimen bags
  • paper bags
  • magnifying glass
  • our letterboxing kits
  • extra clothes for me and the kids
  • baby wipes
  • hand sanitizer
  • field guides (birds/plants – I still have to buy some more of these) and park guides
  • craft sticks (for poking or picking things up that one doesn’t want to touch)
  • maps
  • string/rope

I’m sure I’ll be adding things to the box – I’ll come back and update this post when I do. So what’s going in your box?

Warmly,

~h

4 responses

  1. You rock! Thanks for posting this. All that stuff is going in my box, plus I need to make a first aid kit.
    I’ll add:
    bottled water
    trail mix (nothing melty)
    a net
    towels

    September 4, 2010 at 6:20 pm

  2. Ooooohhh – good additions!!
    ~h

    September 5, 2010 at 12:00 am

  3. We have many of these things in our van but we just call it “stuff that’s in the car”. Field Trip Kit sounds much better. I like that. Love the addition of the field guides. Great idea.
    We also keep:
    water shoes (’cause we like to go in any creek/lake/river we find)
    nets
    containers/cups so we can examine any aquatic critters before releasing them

    Jesslynn mentioned water bottles. If they are bottled water from the grocery store, be careful about storing in a hot car. These bottles are not usually BPA free. BPA (bad plastic, known carcinogen) can leach into the water when exposed to high temperatures, such as a hot car.

    My apologies if you already knew that and were talking about an aluminum or refillable BPA free bottle. I spent last summer learning about this and getting rid of all the plastic in our home unless I knew it was BPA free. I was amazed at how many products we had that my family was eating off of and drinking out of on a daily basis that were not BPA free.

    But I digress. 🙂 Great post, Heather.

    September 5, 2010 at 5:53 am

  4. Oooh – water shoes is a good addition, too!! We have a ton of stuff in the car, too, but I am thinking that the box might be more organized. I’m adding a list taped to the inside lid so I can keep up with what’s there – Oh! And I’m adding toilet paper. You never know when that’ll come in handy 😉

    I did know about the bpa, but thanks for the reminder. Last year, a friend of mine wrote up and article on kids and bpa products – it’s scary!! Here’s the link with more info for those who haven’t read about how toxic it is:
    http://wholemotheringcenter.wordpress.com/tag/bpa/

    ~h

    September 5, 2010 at 2:31 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

