Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Thoughts on Not Back to School

Today is the first day of school for most of our non-homeschooled friends. This is the first ‘back to school’ since LittleBoyBlue was 5 that we’re not a part of. I thought it was really nice the my Loverly Husband always took off the kids’ first day of school. It was a big event for them, and I really appreciated that my kids had a dad who thought of things like that.

Truthfully, I didn’t give much thought to how I would feel about today, but now that it’s here and I am ‘in’ it, I have this odd feeling that we’re missing out. Oh, I know that we’re not; not really. But we always made the First Day of School such a ‘thing’ – almost like a holiday event – that I am finding it quite strange not to be a part of it this year.

We’re celebrating today with our homeschool group by hitting a local park. One thing I can say about our city is that they have a fairly decent parks system. They’re fairly well-maintained and we enjoy spending time there. So does everyone else. There are days during the summer that are just ridiculously crowded, so we either avoid it entirely or have to plan on going at less popular times, which are often inconvenient to us. Now that school’s back in, we should have a shot at a nice, deserted park.

I’m up early this morning – aside from the nagging feeling of something amiss, I am really looking forward to today’s event. Since this is our first ‘Not Back to School Day’, it’s a tradition-starting thing, and I really enjoy that. I am about to go make a big thermos of coffee (even though it’s hot outside, playdate is early this morning, so I am hoping that will go over well) and pack the cooler with lunch. We’ve also got to stop by the grocery to pick up snacks to take to the park – we’re having a brunch-potluck type thing. I’m picking up juice and donuts and possibly kolaches if I can find some.

I’m sure once our day gets started, I’ll feel better. I’m reasonably certain that what I’m feeling is the lack of excitement and hubub that would have surrounded today – not the actual ‘not going to school’ part. I think once we get going, I’ll feel differently. The kids aren’t even up yet, so I’m going to relax a bit before we have to get dressed and go.

On the menu at This Adventure Life for this week: I’m celebrating 100 posts, lesson planning for M6 and I have a tutorial for making your own homeschool crest almost done, so you’ll want to check back for that!

Warmly,

~h

4 responses

  1. Jana C

    We make the start of each new year right after Quince’s birthday. The kids get a new set of clothes, new tennis shoes, and brand new school supplies.

    They also get to check out all of the new books for the year. They get to browse through them to their hearts content for one day.

    We always go to get a treat when the day is finished too !

    You will just have to start a new tradition !

    Good luck.

    August 23, 2010 at 10:26 am

  2. We actually had a great day! We spent most of the day at the park, then had some errands. We planned a field trip for tomorrow with some friends, so I think that’s a great start to a new tradition 🙂

    I love the ‘letting the kids browse the books’ idea. Our new school year will start in January, so we might use that.

    Thanks, Jana!
    ~h

    August 23, 2010 at 7:05 pm

  3. This is our first year homeschooling and we always felt first day of school was a big deal. I would take pics of the kids in their cute outfits and book bags and all that crap. This year I didn’t even tell them when the public schools started because I did feel like we were missing something. So instead, we got ice cream that day. They found out when the owner asked why they weren’t in school. Didn’t bother them a bit either. Eldest looked at me and said “Well it’s not like the school would have brought us here for ice cream!”. Score for momma!

    August 24, 2010 at 6:33 am

  4. Sounds like a great day!
    It’s a wonderful thing when the kids actually recognize and vocalize that Mom is awesome 😉 Well done, Angela!
    ~h

    August 24, 2010 at 9:26 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

