Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

100 Days of Homeschool Party

A couple of weeks ago, my good friend SFK sent me a Facebook message with the recipe for these super-vivid cupcakes with a single note, ‘Your house or mine?” (which illustrates perfectly why she holds a place in my heart… it’s not every mom who would willingly let not one but FOUR children spread super-bright food dye all over her kitchen counters).

A couple of days after that, I made mention to someone about celebrating 100 days of homeschool, not realizing that our own 100 days was fast approaching. Thus was the foundation for our 100 Days of Homeschool Party laid.

I went online and searched for activities and lesson plans and found a ton of stuff that was geared toward the classroom, which can usually be adapted for homeschooling use, but nothing that was actually directed towards homeschoolers. I posted last week with some preliminary plans; suffice it to say, I may have been over-reaching. The party supply store ended up seeming like a really long 5 minute drive and the thought of my poor fingers and lungs having to blow and tie 100 balloons was just too much, so we omitted that entire part of the plan.

The boys and I did start off the day with pancakes – only 10 of them, which is a multiple of 100, so that worked out. After breakfast, we did the quick tear through the house to tidy up that every mom on the planet does when she’s expecting company; though I have to say that I am extremely fortunate that my small group of friends truly do come to see me and not my house. That makes the tidy-up a quick bleach of the toilet and making sure there’s not actual heaps of dirt in the corners… and that’s about it.

Homeschooling pros SFK with girls LittleMiss and Tav, and introducing {fanfare} PB&JMom, with her kiddos (8DS PuddleJumper,11DD BellaBailar, 6DS AngelBoy & 3DD JellyBean – see: P, B And J Mom… clever, yes?) all came to celebrate with us. After a hot dog lunch, we mixed up 3 colors of Jello and lined the bottom of a dish with strawberries (for a coral reef – sorta) and orange Jello, then topped it with 100 Swedish fish and blue Jello (Tav comes in and asked if I knew why they called them ‘Swedish Fish’. I said no and was ever-so-adorbaly informed that it’s because they’re ‘sweet-ish’ and they’re shaped like fish’ – see? Swedish Fish!). We had the girls count out the fish, then let the boys double-check, then the girls double-checked them and so forth and so on until a consensus was reached that this was, indeed, 100 Swedish Fish.

The Jello looked pretty in the bowl… not so much scooped out on the plate:

The complaint was that the fish (which are supposed to be gooey and soft) got too hard in the cold refrigerator, plus they got all slimy. The Jello part was good, according to the kids. Our bowl was getting full, so we didn’t get to add the red Jello. If we do this again, we’ll use a taller container and start earlier in the day so the fish can be suspended in layers.

After jello, we brought the kids in to make the cupcakes.

While the cupcakes were baking, the girls did some flower-arranging (they made lovely bouquets for all the moms) and the boys played Wii. It was actually surprisingly quiet for a little while. Of course, that didn’t last long, so PB&JMom grabbed the lot of them and played a game.

Finally the cupcakes were done and decorating ensued:

Then it was out to the pool:

Since my children were asleep by 10PM (a rarity…) I know they were completely worn out, which usually happens after they’ve had a fun-filled busy day. I hope that our friends had as much fun as we did!

Warmly,

~h

4 responses

  1. PB&J

    Yeah!!! I’m so glad that you posted this. I love, love, love the pictures!! We had so much fun yesterday. I’m honored with all the nicknames, very cute!!

    pb&j

    August 11, 2010 at 9:54 am

  2. Glad you approve 🙂 We had a great time, too! I don’t know why the pictures aren’t formatting correctly – all of the small ones are supposed to be centered with 2 on each line. I’ve reposted this, like 4 time, and it’s STILL messing up. Grrr…
    The pics did turn out cute though. Remind me and I’ll bring you a disk tomorrow.
    ~h

    August 11, 2010 at 1:06 pm

  3. Those cupcakes look yummy! And according to the recipe super easy. I think the boys and I will have to tackle these soon. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    August 13, 2010 at 12:47 am

  4. They were super fun to make, and surprisingly un-messy… as dark as the dye was, I was sure it would be all over the place, but it was very easy to clean up.
    ~h

    August 13, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

