Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Party Plans for 100 Days

Our 100th day of homeschooling is next Tuesday. I can’t believe that we’re already there. I was just talking to a friend of mine about 100th day activities and I was thinking we still had a ways to go – but no – its next week.

I’ve been assembling ideas on how to commemorate the occasion, and here’s what I think the plan is going to be:

I’m going to decorate our homeschool room Monday evening after the boys go to bed. We’re inviting SFK and her girls to come celebrate with us, so I’m going to keep the boys out until they arrive so that the decor can be a surprise.

The whole day is going to be a celebration; I think we’ll start off with 100 silver dollar pancakes (small pancake bites if you haven’t heard of them before). I’ve seen lots of ideas about dressing crazy – we may have to figure out something to do with clothing – maybe a hundred pieces of clothing between all of us? We can brush our hair and teeth 100 strokes, and maybe make a secret word that when said causes all activity to stop and count to 100. That has the potential to be a lot of fun and/or extremely annoying.

I found a ‘100 days’ Crown Pattern that the kids can color and we’ll staple them to a sentence strip. I may have to do one for myself, too. I also found a site with 100th day songs & poems and a sheet, I Can Write 100 Words that we may work on throughout the day. I’m also going to have the boys tell me about their first 100 days of homeschool; I’ll record them in a blog post about that day and code them in appropriate colors. we’ll talk about things like

  • What have you learned in 100 days:
  • Best thing /worst thing about homeschooling:
  • Best day/ Worst day:
  • Most fun / Most boring

I will probably add a few more to that list. I also found a ton of other ideas that we may use:

  • As part of our 100 day celebration, we make several boxes of Jello “Booberry” flavored jello (it is blue in color). We pour it into a shallow glass pyrex plate and let it set for a little while. Before it completely sets, we insert 100 red candy swedish fish. We count as we insert them. We then let the jello completely set. When set, you have a 100 fish aquarium. ~Barbara W., East Newark, NJ I really love this idea! I asked SFK to make it and I think I’ll make something with gummi worms – dirt cups, maybe?
  • Margo Ennis has several great ideas: Clip 100 paper clips together. With a partner measure things in the room that are as long, shorter than, and longer than the paper clip chain We use third grade partners to work with the kindergarten students. They measure together. After each measurement the third grader writes the word for the item, the kindergarten student draws a simple picture of it. This would be a good one for us because we’ll have at least 4 kids, one older and one younger. There are literally a thousand things around here that we could measure this way.
  • We sing the following song to the tune of “Ta-ra-ra boom de ay”
    It’s the 100th day.
    So shout hip-hip hooray!
    We’ll count and eat and play,
    On the 100th day!See all we’ve collected.
    100’s on display.
    Join in the fun and say,
    Hooray for the 100th Day!
  • One Hundred Hanging Objects I love ceiling hangers! Our schoolroom has a super high ceiling, so we may have to come up with a clever way to get things up there (since Mom so does not so heights), but I want to put something up there – 100 birds, maybe.
  • Students draw a picture of how they will look when they are 100 years old. (These are hysterical!) They also write about the picture. ~Sandra D. Littekin I love this idea, too!
  • Make a lei necklace using any kind of cereal with holes (Cheerios, Fruit Loops, etc.): Take a piece of yarn (or use red rope licorice) and tightly wrap a piece of masking tape at one end (this aids in threading the cereal). Thread 10 pieces of cereal on the yarn, then add a short piece of straw, add ten more pieces of cereal, then straw, etc. until you have 100 pieces of cereal on your necklace. You’re teaching place value: 10 tens make 100!
  • Flip a coin 100 times.  Graph the number of heads and tails.
  • Make a list of the hundred most important people and tell why they are important.
  • Read 100 books on the 100th day of school. Have students work together towards this goal and estimate how many books each child will have to read for them to reach 100. Students record the title, author and a sentence about their favorite part on a paper circle. I then tape the circles along the wall with a bookworm head at the start saying “We read 100 books on the 100th day of school!”. This works well with grade 1 or 2 students since they are often reading shorter books. Lisa Black ~ Toronto, Ontario

Some of those may be a bit ambitious, but at least I have a lot to choose from! I’ll take pictures, so look for a 100 Day Update on Wednesday next week. What kinds of activities have you done or do you have planned to celebrate your 100th day?

Warmly,

~h

One response

  1. Pingback: 100 Days of Homeschool Party « Finding the Fantastic in Everyday Learning

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

