Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Is Blogging for Kids?

I’ve been toying with the idea of setting up blogs for the boys to help improve their story-telling and writing skills. They are already required to journal on school days, and encouraged to write something daily, so it’s not that they’re lacking, but having another outlet to choose from to get that assignment in might be interesting. I know there is some controversy surrounding letting young children blog, but I am thinking that it’s really very similar to a journal.

It seems to me that the more we’re moving to a computer-oriented society, that the sooner our kids are able to integrate computer usage into their daily lives the more that knowledge will benefit them. Blogging allows a somewhat public forum to showcase writing, which can allow an avenue for feedback and constructive criticism. Personally, I like the flexibility of typed work. I typically write, write, write and get the thoughts on paper, and then go back and check spelling and grammar, add details and references and organize the entire work into an easily readable document. That’s a style that works well for me, and allows me to build a nice sized pool of works in draft to choose from when I’m not feeling creative or need to collect more information before I have enough to post. Taking into consideration how much my boys are like me, having a blog to work with might be a really good option for them.

Obviously, kids would need some safeguards in place, and most blogging sites have privacy options that you can use to help keep your kids’ info out of the public-public eye. I’d have to double-check whatever they write to make sure it’s safe, but I do think that teaching internet safety is a good idea though, especially with social networks and forums being so popular. I think I’d feel safer with my kids having a blog at this age and learn how to post without revealing too much personally identifiable info than letting them have a Facebook account.

So I’m curious. What’s your view or opinion on letting elementary school aged kiddos have their own blog?

Warmly,

~h

3 responses

  1. S

    Several of the kids in our local homeschooling group, including my son, have blogs. None of them posts very regularly, but they all enjoy having that little place on the Internet to call their own. I know of a few others from online friends as well. We all took steps to protect their privacy, allowing photos of themselves, but no real names or identifying information.

    As for the actually blogging – sometimes my son dictates to me and sometimes he posts on his own. Here’s a link to his blog if you are interested: http://rockingrobot.blogspot.com/ I think it’s been a good learning experience for him and I hope he takes it up a little more now that he’s more comfortable with how it works.

    July 18, 2010 at 11:11 pm

  2. That’s awesome!! He’s got quite the gamut of interests there. I showed both of my boys his blog and they’re very interested in the concept. We’re discussing setting them each up a blog here in the next few days. We’ll keep Robot’s blog bookmarked and follow once the boys have their online identities. Thanks so much for sharing the link and your thoughts!
    ~h

    July 19, 2010 at 7:46 pm

  3. You can start encouraging kids in blogging by starting to make a blog for kids. Then they can contribute about almost anything and maybe this can be their inspiration to start something on their own.

    November 16, 2013 at 1:10 am

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

