Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

A Couple of Updates…

It occurs to me that over the past few months, I’ve made mention of things that I never followed up on. One such item was the ‘bring your bags’ reminder sticker from Conserving Now. I got mine in; this is what it looks like:

Another was the free water testing kit:

(we have soft water  – the test strip was green, but the kids were playing with it before I snagged a picture and the pad got torn. Underneath it was the odd pink color – wonder what makes that happen?) I was unimpressed with this little kit – I was expecting something more… grand, I suppose. Something to test lead levels or toxins or something more impressive than ‘is your water too hard?’. Oh, well – the kit was free and the kids had fun ‘testing’ it so it was worth it in the end I suppose.

Something else I made mention of frequently in the past was the Creativity Boot Camp. {sigh} I am such a quitter. I didn’t finish it. I got through the weekend on it and just… lost interest. I think it was my medium. I think my expectation was (unconsciously) that the workshop was going to improve my skills in whatever medium I chose. That was unrealistic and I see in retrospect that the point of the workshop was to inspire, not necessarily hone skills one does not inherently possess. I chose drawing (pencil/charcoal) as my medium, and the bottom line is that I really suck at drawing. I am disappointed with myself for not finishing it, but that’s not going to motivate me to finish the workshop in that medium (if I’m being honest, which I am). I DO want to try again with a different medium – photography or writing, maybe.

I actually went today to a new writing group’s discussion meeting this afternoon, which is probably the first thing all summer that I’ve done exclusively for ME that required appropriating childcare. I am not really sure what I was expecting, but it was nice to talk with other people who are interested in writing as more than strictly a hobby. I started my first novel (an epic historical romance) when I was 16. I still have the manuscript. It’s gone from hand-written to digitalized –  even bought software once upon a time to help me keep the massive family trees straight. I have since created many, many outlines and story concepts, but have completed very few of them. I have fantasies about being interviewed and talking about how it took ’20 years to write this book’, lol. Silly, I know – but fun to think about anyway.

School was supposed to start this week – M5, week 1. We’re… still on vacation, I think. We’ve been goinggoinggoing all summer long and it is really taking a toll on me. Trying to get desk-work and workbooks in for the last couple of weeks has been challenging, so we’re dropping all that for now with plans to pick it back up in a couple of weeks. This week though, I think we’re just vegging a little more. I may have to adjust my school year calendar for next year to allow a bit more of a mid-year break to keep from burning out. Maybe 2 weeks between mods during the summer? We shall see.

Somehow, it still surprises me that I have to make adjustments. I don’t know why that it, but it always manages to catch me by surprise. Part of it is fear of failure, I think. When things don’t work out how I envisioned them, I automatically file it under ‘fail’. I’m working on creating a new filing system – one that doesn’t affect me so negatively. I know I’ve talked about my youngest as being this deep well of negativity, and I know where he gets it from so I can’t really complain about it. I’m working on improving my own outlook so I can help my kiddo. Being a mom is a complex and often humbling job and it seems that they forget to include that in most manuals. Recognizing your own faults staring back at you from the innocent face of your child… that’s not an easy mirror to look into.

Enough waxing on the joys of motherhood, eh?

If you haven’t checked out Postcrossing, then this is yet another PSA from me to do so immediately! We’ve gotten cards from all over – Taiwan, Brazil and several US states, and have sent cards to all over as well. It’s so much fun getting mail! REAL mail – not bills or advertising for stuff you didn’t ask for that you don’t need and wouldn’t want.

So that’s a quick update on what’s been happening at mi casa. How ’bout you? Anything interesting popping up on your radar?

Warmly,

~h

2 responses

  1. I am so glad you guys are enjoying postcrossing. LittleMiss is enjoying our postcrossing adventure more now that she is getting cards too. She got one from Belarus and kept saying it over and over loving the way it felt in her mouth. What are you guys storing your cards in? The girls and I made a memo board out of things we had around the house to put a few on but that is quickly becoming not large enough.

    July 12, 2010 at 8:56 pm

  2. Right now, they’re all going in my purse, lol. As soon as I get a good sized wall map, we’ll add pins to show where we’ve sent to and received from, then the cards will go along the edges as a border. That’s the plan, anyway 🙂

    How funny about LittleMiss and her words! That’s how I pick my word of the day most of the time! It was good seeing you guys Saturday. We need to get together this week.
    ~h

    July 12, 2010 at 9:07 pm

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

