Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Thursday’s Child

Well, we were going to do the Elephant Toothpaste thing today, but I found that we were lacking peroxide. Of all things – I would have thought the yeast would be the most problematic. However, with my bread-making phase a couple of months ago, we have plenty of that still (which reminds me that I need to put a starter on in a few minutes…)

So, lacking the proper ingredients for that, we went with pine cone bird feeders. We collected a fair number of longleaf pine cones from Village Creek State Park a few weeks ago for this exact activity. We tied a string around them, then slathered them in peanut butter and rolled them in birdseed, then hung them in the yard.

I also got out the sewing machine and made some (long overdue) curtains for the living room window. We have a window unit AC that has to be dealt with that has made keeping the sun out and the room cool a challenge. So I tacked up a long piece of the deco fabric in the window and added a strip of the same fabric, turned the other direction to the curtains themselves. The effect is nice, I think.

The kids are getting restless, so I think we’re headed out to the pool for some fun in the sun… again {smile}

Warmly,

~h

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

