Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Art with Friends

A couple of weeks ago, my sister-in-law, who is also homeschooling a 1st grader (my lovely niece, and home-preschooling my 3yo nephew) came by to do some art and join us for playgroup. Another friend (previously mentioned SFK and her wonderful girls) was also supposed to come but wasn’t able to.

Looking back through That Artist Woman’s blog, I found a great springy-time fun project to do that all of the kids would have fun with, including the toddler. We gathered materials and set them up at the table, two at a time.

This is my niece and my two boys (PeaGreen is photocrashing; the little ham!)

We learned a few things; mostly that we should have used liquid ink instead of watered down acrylic for the trees. I think that would have blown easier and ran less than the acrylic… or maybe I just watered it down too much {shrug}. Either way, though not perfect, the kids thought they were fantastic. My niece (who aspires to be an ar-tISTe) was especially enthralled with the method of cloud making that uses a tissue to remove paint from the background rather than trying to paint them in. I must say, her clouds do look fabulous.

That’s PeaGreen’s picture and my 3yo nephew’s… I’m going to have to come up with a clever nickname for them so I don’t always have to say “my niece/nephew”…

That was our first project from That Artist Woman’s blog; we have the Kobinori Windsocks in the works; I’ll post a new blog with those pictures and finished product later on. I still have to sew them up and send the kids to find long sticks to use.  Now we’re off to enjoy the AMAZING spring weather!

Warmly,

~h

One response

  1. Daphne

    Love it!!!

    May 27, 2010 at 9:46 am

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

