Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

During our “off” week…

What does a homeschooling mom who does not have to “do school” do? Well, I’ll tell ya 😉

I’ve been baking bread. I made beer bread last week (didn’t turn out very good; tasted unsurprisingly like beer – ick!), which sparked this whole little jaunt into bread-baking. I found a website called The Fresh Loaf with a ton of recipes and tips for baking better bread and its been fun browsing. I have 2 bread starters fermenting in my kitchen, 1 sourdough and 1 Amish sweet bread. I made sourdough bread a couple of days ago and it turned out great! Now, it’s all gone, so I made more today only to realize when it came out of the oven that I forgot to put salt in the dough. D’oh! It’s edible, but not completely delish like the previous loaves. I still want to try my hand at French and Italian bread, so tomorrow, I am off to buy more flour and yeast to support this new habit.

Another high priority for this week is to work on the kids’ quilts. I have a lot of work to do with them still and I’m ashamed to say that I haven’t worked on them much this week and not at all this weekend. We’re planning on ordering the kids new beds this week sometime, so I need to get on the ball. We’ve been planning on getting them new beds for a while. I’m torn between a regular bunk bed (that can be separated into two twin beds) made from wood or a metal-framed loft bed for each of them. The cost is about the same and I really prefer wooden furniture, but I LOVE the idea of loft beds for them. That would give them a lot more floor space in their room and since they share, I think that would be good. The loft also allows some “private space” in a shared room. I can make curtains for the underside of the bed and they can each have their own little nook by closing the curtains. A desk and a lamp would make it a great place to study or work on projects – I think that as they get older that will be more and more important. Something like this:

(there was a picture here, but freakin’ Photobucket has stupid new rules that screw things up if you pull pictures from there. {sigh})

Only more “little boy”-ish and not so much “college-dorm”-like! I’m leaning more towards the loft, I think.

Another project that will have to get some attention this week is my craft room/former office. I took my desk out of that room to use in the school room, and put all the stuff that was in the school room in there – so it’s overly crowded and extremely cluttered and unorganized. I have shelving in there and I desperately need to organize my books. I’ll have to remember to take before and after pictures, too. My crafting supplies are all in there as well, so the function of the room is kinda convoluted right now. I have a great cutting table for fabric that can double as a crafting table, so I think I am going to set that up. That will make quilting easier, too.

That room is actually the master bedroom in our house. It’s a split floor plan, and when the boys were small, we didn’t want to be across the house from them, so we put our bedroom in one of the other rooms. Now that they’re older, we could use the 2nd bathroom and it would be nice to have a little more space. In the school-room switch, my husband lost his “man cave” space, so we’re planning on re-establishing that in some form in the office, but  think we’re going to move our bedroom into the master room first, and the office into what is now our bedroom … but everything needs PAINT before we can do that.

I also think that it’s time for real curtains in our house. We’ve lived here for almost 9 years, and I only have curtains with rods in our bedroom, but they’re not decorative – just plain. The other rooms have curtains attached to the window frame or on spring-rods. I want actual rods with real curtains (that I will make). Something like this, only less “finished” looking; more edgy:

My sister in law is also homeschooling her dd (1st grade) and she’s coming tomorrow so we can work on planning. I have a post about that in the process now that will probably go up tomorrow with resources and links and my “process”.

That’s a big list! I’ll try to remember to update on Friday with pictures so you can see what all was accomplished.

Warmly,

~h

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

