Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Our Homeschool Room

It’s FINALLY done! All in all, it didn’t take that long, really. A week of near-solid effort and I have the room that I envisioned (minus curtains and a rug that I haven yet to make/buy).

You can see the entire album with the before and after pictures on Photobucket.com here. I’m only going to post the after pictures here.

This is my desk. If you’re standing in the doorway, this is what you see.

This is the far corner. It used to have a bunch of boxes and things stored there, but now we have a chalkboard, white board and reading chair (rocker that I bought when I was pregnant with LittleBoyBlue). I also found that little easel at HEB for $19. It is a little small for my boys, but if they sit, then it will be just the right height for them to use. I figure that it will be perfect for art and for them to work on their nature journals.

This is LittleBoyBlue’s space. He and my husband are big fans of the Halo video games, so my son is thrilled to have Master Chief watching over him while he works.

This is PeaGreen’s desk. He is looking forward to filling the wall above his desk with samples of his work.

This is where the washer and dryer live, hidden behind the curtain. I anticipate being better able to get laundry accomplished since we’ll be in the same room with it every day!

So that’s our space. I’d love to implement workboxes, or a similar system in the near future. I am not sure if we’re ready for that just yet, but I do love the idea and the system seems to work for a lot of people. I saw a 13 pocket file folder thing that we might try as a “school on the go” type system.

I am so pleased with how the space turned out, and that I met my goal of finishing on time! I am normally such a procrastinator – I start out strong on projects (especially painting. Half the rooms in our house are halfway painted.) but fade once something else catches my attention and I rarely go back and finish the project. But I am super proud of myself for following through with this one.

Tomorrow is the big day! Wish me luck 🙂

Warmly,

~h

Love it? Hate it? Let me know! Leave a comment:

