Homeschooling: It's not what we do, it's how we live.

Calling School on Account of Blahs

One of the many, many things that I love about homeschooling is the flexibility. We’ve reached the middle of the week and after a couple of days of ‘phoning it in’, I am calling school on account of blahs.

I am not ‘sick’, but I feel kinda… meh, and I know I am not giving them my best. It’s not that it’s been a ‘bad’ week; things have been fine. But the kids are just doing the work to get it done, rather than doing any real ‘learning’, so instead of continuing to push, I think it makes more sense to spend a couple of days getting over whatever this is we seem to have and begin again next week.

Intellectually, I know that breaks are beneficial. Not pushing when your heart’s not in it; actually stopping to re-group and rediscover your joy in homeschooling is necessary. It’s something that I’ve said and read over and over again, and yet still I occasionally find myself battling the ‘get it done’ mindset.

We’re not bound by anyone else’s rules or policies. We have no one but ourselves to report to or satisfy, and we’re not disrupting a carefully crafted time-table to put off today’s plan in favor of something that fits better. I purposefully designed our school schedule so that there would be enough school days built-in so that we could take breaks where needed. But still, there is the lingering feeling that ‘today is a school day’ and so we ‘must’ get XYZ finished. Silly, I know. Perhaps Mommy needs some de-schooling today. {wink}

In any case, it’s 9:45 and the kids are still in their rooms. They’re not asleep; I can hear them chattering and laughing. I am thinking brunch, chores and then grocery store for hot chocolate and coconut milk to make coconut whipped cream. Then, I think we might scour the KidCraft Pinterest board for something awesome to do this afternoon. Yeah. That’s a good plan.

Warmly,

~h

One response

  1. Sounds like a GREAT plan! We are having a “blah day” here today as well. Yesterday we had an overnight visit from cousins that we don’t get to see often. The boys did their school before they arrived yesterday afternoon, and they had planned on doing it this afternoon after they left. However, we were all sad to say good bye after lunch and it’s raining and overcast…so we decided that the best way to spend the remaining part of our day was in our comfy long PJs, on our couch, with a marathon of Mythbusters. :)

    Hope you found that something awesome to do for your afternoon!

    Oh, and thanks so much for sharing that link to the coconut whipped cream! Looks delicious and will be a fabulous addition to hot cocoa and coffee! :)

    Katie
    A firm believer in that almost any homeschool subject can be made more interesting with a wall map and a good crossword puzzle.

    September 21, 2011 at 10:31 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers